Custom Search
Showing posts with label ICC. Show all posts
Showing posts with label ICC. Show all posts

Monday, July 11, 2011

Greatest Test players of all-time

Public vote on ICC website closes in TWO days with results set to be announced the week before the 2,000th Test

To mark the staging of the 2,000th Test match, which will take place between England and India at Lord’s from 21 to 25 July, the ICC’s official website is calling on supporters from across the globe to select their greatest team of all-time.

Voting is now open as cricket-lovers can select a dream team from a shortlist of 60 players split into five categories – they will be asked to pick two opening batsmen, three middle-order batsmen, a wicketkeeper, three fast bowlers and one spinner. Click here for more details.

Supporters will have until midnight Dubai time (GMT+4) on 13 July 2011 to make their selections, with the choices set to be announced the week before the 2,000th Test is played, at Lord’s between England and India.

While fans have the chance to vote using the suggested nominations, the ICC is also requesting supporters to send in their dream teams viawww.facebook/cricketicc or

ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said: “With the 2,000th Test coming up it is appropriate to remember some of the great players through the ages that have thrilled audiences and inspired us all.

“With so many legends of the game to choose from, it is a very difficult task and I’m sure one that will lead to plenty of fond recollection and great debate.

 “Test cricket is the pinnacle format of our great sport and it is important we continue to protect and promote it so that it grows even stronger over the next 2,000 matches.”

The list of players that fans are being asked to vote on is listed below. For more details go to

Short-list for greatest Test team of all time

Opening batsmen (two) – Geoffrey Boycott, Sunil Gavaskar, Gordon Greenidge, Desmond Haynes, Jack Hobbs, Len Hutton, Hanif Mohammad, Virender Sehwag, Herbert Sutcliffe, Victor Trumper.

Middle-order batsmen (three) – Don Bradman, Greg Chappell, Wally Hammond, George Headley, Brian Lara, Javed Miandad, Graeme Pollock, Ricky Ponting, Viv Richards, Sachin Tendulkar.

All-rounder (one) – Ian Botham, Kapil Dev, Aubrey Faulkner, Richard Hadlee, Jacques Kallis, Imran Khan, Keith Miller, Wilfred Rhodes, Gary Sobers, Frank Worrell.

Wicket-keeper  (one) – Les Ames, Mark Boucher, Jeff Dujon, Godfrey Evans, Andy Flower, Adam Gilchrist, Alan Knott, Rod Marsh, Clyde Walcott, Wasim Bari.

Fast bowlers (three) – Curtley Ambrose, Sydney Barnes, Michael Holding, Dennis Lillee, Ray Lindwall, Malcolm Marshall, Glenn McGrath, Fred Trueman, Courtney Walsh, Wasim Akram.

Spinner (one) – Bishen Bedi, Richie Benaud, Lance Gibbs, Clarrie Grimmett, Jim Laker, Anil Kumble, Muttiah Muralidaran, Bill O’Reilly, Derek Underwood, Shane Warne.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Hit Leap

Traffic Exchange